Send a letter

If you’ve been reading this blog for awhile, you know it goes all over the place – when it goes anywhere at all.  So consider this another tangent.  According to a delightful blog I check in on every week, it’s National Letter Writing Month.  I’ve shared my fondness for letters, before.  I don’t send enough of them, and get as good as I give in this regard (although occasional guest blogger Cristina and I try to make each other’s mail day every once in awhile).  But with email and electronic bill-paying driving the US Postal Service to 5-day/week deliveries, how about sending some cards and letters for old times’ sake?

"Orphans preferred"!

And speaking of old times, today is the 150th anniversary of the opening of the Pony Express.  The mail service ran between St. Joseph, MO and Sacramento, CA from April 3, 1860 to October 24, 1861 – when the Transcontinental Telegraph line rendered it obsolete.  A map of the route is here.  In a bizarre post-modern twist, you can send that map as an e-card to your friends!

A postcard I picked up at the delightful shop, Castle in the Air, in Berkeley, CA.

P.S. I confess, I really wanted to title this post “Go Postal,” but it felt in poor taste.
5 thoughts on “Send a letter

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

