To Tweet or Not to Tweet

As I think I mentioned before, I’m trying to “get” – as in comprehend, grasp, understand the lure ofTwitter.  As a medium for publicizing every random thought that crosses an individual’s mind, it strikes me as incredibly self-indulgent… curvatus in se.  As a medium for exchanging little unanchored, one-sided bits of conversation with one’s fellow followers, it seems cliquish and alienating.  But as a microblogging device – which I’ve seen it used as, to intriguing effect – it holds some interest for me.  It might be a way to dash off Left at the Altar quickies when I don’t have time to think of titles or ledes, thus keeping things a bit more fresh and timely around here.  So whenever I see a link touting that someone or something is tweeting, I check it out.  Research, you know?  And sometimes I check out who the Twits are “following,” too.

joan-jett-k011Which is the only conceivable way I can imagine that I found myself on Joan Jett’s Twitter (site? board? feed?).  Yeah, that Joan Jett.  Not exactly at the forefront of my consciousness, but once I saw her name, I had to click.  I mean, “I Love Rock ‘n Roll” was an anthem when I was in college.

Well, I have to admit, she looks quite fit and healthy at, what?, 50ish?  51, according to Wikipedia.  I also have to admit that I’ve never listened to a whole Joan Jett album.  So I must take Wikipedia’s word for it that her songs “often featur(e) lyrics surrounding themes of lost love, criticisms of insincerity, the struggles and resolution of the American working class, and the quest for authenticity.”  ‘Cuz that all seems a bit high-falutin’ for the likes of Do You Wanna Touch Me.

4 thoughts on “To Tweet or Not to Tweet

Add yours

  1. You just said you’ve never listened to a whole record, right?
    It could certainly explain why you have a hard time understand why she could have lyrics that “often featur(e) lyrics surrounding themes of lost love, criticisms of insincerity, the struggles and resolution of the American working class, and the quest for authenticity.”

  2. Yep – that’s why I said I had to take Wikipedia’s word for it. I was just snarking on “Do You Wanna Touch” (which I have always loved and which is on my workout playlist, for the record). What do you consider to be her 2 or 3 best albums? (I’m on a budget, but I’ll start there.)

  3. “I love rock n roll” and “Bad Reputation” are her best IMO.. Also, “Do You Wanna Touch” is a Gary Glitter song (so you will now, no doubt, take the lyrics in a completely different way 🙂 ).

    1. OK… first, shame on me for not confirming that the song was JJ’s before I snarked on it. Second, how right you are! The song lyrics take on a whole new (twisted) spin! Geez. Now when it comes up on my playlist I’m going to have to row hard to put that out of my head.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

