Middle class relative to what?

I clicked on the link for this interview because the teaser mentioned Jon Katz and dogs, and I like both subjects. Yes, I was a little startled to see that the interviewer was Tucker Carlson – a man I really can’t bear – but I soldiered on. And good ol’ Tucker didn’t disappoint:

CARLSON: I think most Americans like middle class people hate telling the housekeeper what to do, right, I mean, famously? I think a lot of Americans feel bad about training a dog or being too harsh with the dog. It seems so old-fashioned and kind of mean.

Setting aside the silver-tongued syntax for now, I’m just curious: how many middle class families do you know that have a housekeeper?

One thought on “Middle class relative to what?

Add yours

  1. M2–
    Can’t speak for other parts of the country, but here in the Bay Area, it’s not unusual for people to have a housekeeper. With two professional incomes and not a lot of time, people often consider a housekeeper a necessity. I’ve considered it, but still think my money is better spent elsewhere for now.
    B

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

